16/366: prunings recycling

Some years ago Maroondah City Council implemented a fortnightly rotating cycle for recycling. One week you put the blue bin out with papers, cans and bottles, and then every alternating week the prunings recycling bin goes out on the kerbside for collection.

I used to be a rather random gardener in the early years. We wouldn’t go out there for weeks on end, and then when we did there was a lot to do, necessitating a trip to the tip with the trailer.

Now, because the garden is quite lush, I need to stay on top of things. Ever since this collection came into effect, I have made it my mission to fill that bin every two weeks. Not only does that utilise the rates we pay, but it keeps my garden in much better condition. In Spring and Summer I almost wish we had two such bins, but I manage to make do with the one provided.

Leave a Reply

