37/366: big broad beauty

At the edge of the pergola another plant appeared some time ago. I believe it may have come under the fence from next door. It filled up a spot so I thought nothing more of it, but now it has become rather large, and is encroaching on my English Box specimen.

It has very large, broad, shiny leaves, so when I was at the nursery I looked and thought it might be a Strelitzia, commonly known as Bird of Paradise. However, on googling it, I realised that although there are different varieties of Strelitzia, none of their leaves seemed broad enough. The internet is amazing, but start searching for information and it can lead you to many different sites (and sights), depending on what you “google.” So I searched for “broad leafed plants” and found Aspidistras, but their leaves were too long and again, not wide enough.

Hence I’ve been wasting a lot of time on the computer doing this (unnecessary) research, and not really coming up with anything. By this time I had almost forgotten what the original plant looked like because I had seen so many other photos, so I went outside.

On looking at them freshly, it dawned on me what they remind me of: elephant ears. And bingo, that is exactly what they are! Which variety, I’m still not positive, and I plan to research the botanical name as well, and also what to do with them, but meanwhile I am happy enough with that information.

 

 

Leave a Reply

