44/366: tools of the trade

Regularly maintaining the garden is easier if you have the right tools for the job. Our driveway is bordered by seaside daisies and three conifers. The daisies spill out onto the concrete so have to be cut back regularly. The ivy that is starting to creep up over the conifer also has to be contained.

I  love both my pruners. The electric hedge trimmer is good for bigger jobs, while my little hand-held rechargeable pruner is just right for more intricate chores, or fine tuning, as I need to level off the top of the conifers. There used to be four of them when I first planted them, but unfortunately one died, which is the only drawback of serial planting that I can see. Otherwise a row of similar plants is very effective.

The big scoopers are like having an extra large pair of hands to help pick up leaves or prunings. After that I either sweep or use the patio blower to finish off the task.

Leave a Reply

