75/366: let’s take some cuttings

Yesterday, after spending hours pruning, I decided this would be a good time to take some cuttings, utilising the trimmings.

From the central garden bed at the front, I have pieces from the English box plants, including a variegated light green one, creeping juniper and golden diosma.  There are always spaces to fill, particularly in the back yard. More nice plants generally mean less places that weeds can rear their ugly little heads.

I have ignored the rules about sterilising pots. My theory is that if the plant can grow with a few germs, it will have better immunity.  Propagating mix and a rooting powder are my friends. Having had some success in the past, I look forward to seeing the results.

2 thoughts on “75/366: let’s take some cuttings

  1. I like your thoughts on germs making for stronger plants… it reminds me of the numerous studies that have come out regarding children raised on farms or in homes where they are allowed to get dirty having stronger immune systems than those kids that are raised by mothers that are germ phobic and sterilize everything. Hopefully it’ll hold true for your baby plants. I look forward to perusing through the rest of your blog.

    • Thanks for that. I work by that principle too, whereby if I drop some food on the floor (for my own consumption) I use the “three-second rule” for picking it up and eating it! Touch wood that it’s safe.

Leave a Reply

