140/366: garage sale garden goodies

I love the bargains to be found at garage sales, though I try not to frequent them too often, as it impinges on my efforts to deaccumulate. There is almost always something to be found, sometimes finding things that you didn’t even realise you desperately needed. In my defence, I do try to be selective with my purchases, and often will set out to find a particular item.

Today was no exception, as I had settled on looking for garden items. My theory is that this helps save money in the long-term. Also, if I buy for the garden, the “treasures” don’t need to find a home in our already crowded house. The term I use is not necessarily the same word my husband coins. His is more likely to be “junk” or “stuff” or “clutter”.

My good deed of starting to tidy my study/studio the other day helped out here, as I unexpectedly found $50 in a container, which seemed to be my reward for finally starting the onerous task of getting that room organised. Hence, I was off to a couple of garage sales this morning.

Among other things, I found some good pots for my garden.

It has a certain antique quality that only comes with age. Isn’t it funny that I don’t like that same antique quality when it appears on my face?! And I don’t mean the moss growing on the side of the pot.

The pair to the concrete pot came with a bonus plant, which I’m not sure is supposed to look half-dead, although being a positive type of person I should be saying half-alive.

A couple of terracotta herb pots completed my garden purchases of the day.

To make it a mini competition, guess how much I paid for all four pots? We’ve already established that I came away with a bargain. There will be no prizes; just a little fun for anyone inclined to join in. Thank you in anticipation for your participation.

4 thoughts on “140/366: garage sale garden goodies

Leave a Reply

