143/366: no more tears

Have you noticed, sometimes an onion in the pantry begins to sprout? I found two brown onions already growing, plus a third red onion shooting, so I thought, why not try and plant them?

I could have googled how to do it, but on this occasion I have just stuck them in the same pot, to see what will happen. Then I watered them in with some Seasol. They were past using in the kitchen, so rather than throw them in the compost, it will be a good experiment.

Last year I did actually buy onion seedlings and planted them, but unsuccessfully. Murphy’s Law means that I will probably have more luck with these ones that I have treated carelessly. Well, here’s hoping. Either way, there will be no tears shed over these onions.

2 thoughts on “143/366: no more tears

  1. Good luck with this….let me know how you make out. Heaven knows how many I have tossed in the bin. Good idea, if they grow.

Leave a Reply

