178/366: is it too late to save them?

My poor blueberry plants that I planted with such hope just over a month ago are looking decidedly sad.

I remember reading about them getting wet feet and then rotting. By the look of the yellowing leaves, I am afraid that this might in fact be the problem.

In order to avoid excessive moisture, I have placed a couple of grocery plastic bags around the base, but I hope that doesn’t create a greenhouse humid effect.

Any suggestions would be welcome. Is it too late to save them?

3 thoughts on “178/366: is it too late to save them?

  1. Are you using a soil mix for acidic plants, or added any sulfur or anything to that soil? Blueberries need soil with a pH of between 4.5 – 5.5, so most people need to amend their soil in order to grow them. I would also try a container with drainage (assuming that one doesn’t). Good luck!

    • I bought potting mix specially designed for acid-loving plants such as blueberries, rhododendrons and camellias. Thanks Sarah, I think you may be right about the drainage. It’s a shame, because they looked really pretty in those pots, but the main aim with these plants is that I eventually get fresh blueberries. Sandi

Leave a Reply

