218/366: sandi’s wholemeal carrot and walnut cake

I have a recipe from a 1979 Women’s Weekly magazine for a carrot cake, around the time  they first became popular. In the intervening years I have modified the recipe so many times that now I think I can safely call it my own.

The original recipe called for 3/4 cup of oil, which I reduced to 1/2, then 1/3, until finally, last week I decided it probably didn’t need oil at oil. Now the fat the cake contains is in the walnuts. The addition of the yoghurt and water replace the moisture lost by the omission of oil. It also had one full cup of sugar, which I have halved with no detriment to the yumminess of the cake.

It was common to decorate a carrot cake with cream cheese frosting. These days I don’t ice it at all, unless I am making it for a birthday or other celebration.

sandi’s wholemeal carrot and walnut cake

ingredients:

2 cups grated carrot (2 large or 4 small)                                             2 eggs, lightly beaten   1/2 cup sugar                                                                                                       1/3 cup water  1/2 cup low-fat natural yoghurt                                         1/2 cup (50g.) chopped walnuts  1/3 cup (50g.) sultanas                                             1 1/2 cups (175g.) SR wholemeal flour      3 tsp. mixed spice                                                                                                   1/2 tsp. salt

method:

Mix all ingredients together and place in a well-greased pan.  I use an olive oil spray.             Bake in pre-heated oven at 180 degrees or 170 degrees in a fan-forced oven, for 35-45 minutes, or until cooked. Test with a cake skewer which should come out clean.                 Leave in the pan for at least ten minutes before turning out onto a cake cooler.

Turn it out too soon and it will break. Although it will still taste good the presentation will be compromised. I like to use the Tupperware Kugelhopf, a silicone mould.

I also discovered that by using a ring tin/pan, you don’t have to worry about the middle being cooked, and it also fits nicely on a handled cake plate. Bon appetit!

Here’s one I prepared earlier (last week).

4 thoughts on “218/366: sandi’s wholemeal carrot and walnut cake

  1. I can attest to its great taste. Once it is out of the oven and cooled down enough to handle, you will find me standing there with a knife in hand waiting to take a thick slice out of it. These carrot cakes get eaten very quickly and they are also very tasty after they have cooled down.

  2. Looks delish. A confession though, I really don’t bake that much. Would much rather cook up a storm, as that really is my forte. But will definitely make this.

Leave a Reply

