225/366: don’t palm me off

On the patio under the fab new pergola I have two fringed umbrellas, which made me think a tropical atmosphere could be created there.

With the beautiful large tree fern in the corner, and a cane shelf, I think some palms could look very nice. In yonder days when indoor house plants were all the rage, I had a couple of potted palms, although they never seemed to survive a great length of time. Perhaps that’s why I never considered them for the garden?

Other reasons contributed: my indiscriminate love of conifers for one. Also,many palms are only suited to tropical climates, and being in a temperate zone in Melbourne, Australia, frosts could get to them. However, looking around here I have realised that there are some that grow here successfully.

I’ve taken some snaps of some in the neighbourhood, to form the basis for my research.

Quite impressive plants, but the only trouble is that I don’t know the names of these varieties. Never mind, I’m sure my old friend Google can help when it is time to start buying and planting.

Leave a Reply

