322/366: not forgetting the fish

Well, I did actually forget the fish. When I uploaded my post about the pond being finished, the photos did not show any fish, so I think that while the pond was complete the addition of livestock was not.

My husband was in charge of the fish project, and the filters. I had only ever wanted a little garden feature, but it ended up bigger than Ben Hur. Unfortunately, a leak sprang up in the liner, and we were losing a lot of water. Then water restrictions came in force. All things seemed set to cause problems for our pond. Although he managed to rescue some fish, they ended up dying, which saddened him. I had never really had a relationship with those fish, so it was only mildly upsetting for me.

But later, a few tiny ones appeared in the pond. we christened them “Fish: the next generation”, but they too ended up departing. Eventually, the time came when we had         to face facts about the drought, that maintaining a pond of these dimensions was now               no longer possible.

So endeth another little saga from the garden of princessprattles.

2 thoughts on “322/366: not forgetting the fish

  1. You know me, I love fish, errrr, actually more like Fish out of Water. But I love nothing more to see fish swimming merrily in a pond. Sad about the water restrictions, the drought you endured, and the demise of your fish.

Leave a Reply

