325/366: search for a gecko for the garden

While on holiday in Thailand, I searched for a metal gecko for the garden, which I thought would be perfect for the tropical theme I have been planning. However, when we asked our driver to take us to a nursery, although it was delightful, most of the ornaments there were made of concrete! There will be a blog specifically about this nursery on travelswithprincessandquiquinou.

Imagine the excess baggage if I tucked these elephants into my suitcase, not that they would fit, as they were taller than a man, but you get my drift.

It was still fun looking at all the variety, but nowhere in my travels did I find a gecko.

Sometimes you have to travel all the way to a faraway place only to find that the item you wanted was readily available within a fifteen minute drive of your house.

This lovely little metal gecko will quite probably go somewhere on the patio. It would have been nicer to say that we bought it overseas, which makes me a travel snob perhaps. At the end of the day if it is the right piece for the right place it really doesn’t matter where it was purchased!

5 thoughts on “325/366: search for a gecko for the garden

  1. Love the Gecko. Funny how you found this almost in your own “backyard” so to speak.
    I am always on the trail of that unusual “fish out of water” ornament, or serving piece..etc. etc. etc. it is when my guard is down that I find it. Drives you know who Crazy.

Leave a Reply

