329/366: nesting instinct or a basket case?

My daughter was visiting me the other day and laughed at me when I told her I was having a go at basket-weaving. I think it conjured up pictures of mental institutions in old movies, or maybe old people’s homes.

It all started because I had leftover bamboo strips from the blinds I used on my fence re-vamp, and I was trying to think of a way to recycle them. Before I knew it, I was trying to thread them onto a semi-circular wire hanging basket. They kept snapping, so I soaked them for a couple of nights in the bathtub, with water just covering them.

This helped their malleability, and I also added the last bit of brush fencing, with the whole thing ending up looking rather like a bird’s nest. Hence the title. Finally, I added some artificial plants and attached it to the fence using cable ties, which have many varied uses. Now it’s up on the fence, never needing watering, and disguising the join of the trellis. But really, I must try to finish some projects before constantly launching out in other directions. Nevertheless, I was quite pleased with the result.

2 thoughts on “329/366: nesting instinct or a basket case?

Leave a Reply

