349/366: beautiful birdhouses

I used to walk past an old white weatherboard house often and admire its character and charm. It was obvious that a lot of love and labour had gone into it. Then when it was up for sale I wondered why, when it was so adorable. Perhaps the family was growing up and they needed more space? Was it a marriage breakup? It sparked my imagination.

Last week as I drove towards this house, I saw a sign out the front saying Garage Sale NOW, so being the obedient gal I am, I went and had a look, and I was so glad I did. Among other items, I was fortunate enough to obtain a selection of birdhouses. How true, that one man’s trash is another man’s treasure.

Chatting to the guy, it transpired that it was actually due to a marriage breakup that these items were being sold. How sad, but I can assure you that these birdhouses have been adopted into a good home where they will be truly appreciated.

elongated elegance

elongated elegance

metal tools

metal tools

rustic roughness

rustic roughness

the distressed look

the distressed look

At the moment they are resting on the patio, but will find a special corner in the garden after Christmas.

beautiful birdhouses

Leave a Reply

