2/52: planting palms

Since we purchased a number of palms, the next step was to plant them. Hopefully they will fare well, as we have had extreme temperatures of late of almost 40 degrees Celsius.

I had originally contemplated adding another bluestone wall to section of this area, but when I removed lots of ivy I discovered a few rocks underneath. Adding the two larger bluestone blocks has provided enough of a barrier that a structured wall is probably overkill, much to my labourer husband’s delight.

Nevertheless, with his digging skills, guess who had the task of planting all the palms? That was obviously a rhetorical question.

first palm planted

The first palm planted was a Canary Island palm, Phoenix canariensis.

second palm planted

The second palm,  Phoenix roebelinii went in. I was excited because my tropical garden was finally under way.

my tropical garden in the middle tier  The rest of the palms will feature in further posts, as I have to pack.

Another trip? Yessiree, a New Zealand cruise, about which I will later be blogging on Travels with Princess & Quiquinou.

2 thoughts on “2/52: planting palms

    • Usually I just put the common name, but thought it might be a good idea to include the scientific or botanical name, and I do like being correct in my spelling, so thank you Joe. Now I will have a mission to go through all my other posts at some stage to fix this fault. Phoenix roebelinii is now correct :)

Leave a Reply

