13/52: a trip down memory lane

Having moved into our house 28 years ago this month, I realise we have come a long way from a “shell on a paddock” to a comfortable home on a lovingly landscaped block.

original ad for our place 27 years ago

As I sit at the laptop I glance out at the front garden. From my vantage point I look through the lovely timber full-length bay window. I can see two of the three weeping japanese maples, Inaba shidare, a greenstead magnificent, a couple of pruned english box shrubs, and another whose name I am unsure of. You’d think I would have kept records of everything I planted, and I probably did, somewhere in the archives, in a safe place. Ask my husband about me keeping things in “safe places” and he is likely to mutter something about a black hole in which items notoriously disappear.

Last but not least, as I look out the lounge room window, on the right is a slow-growing conifer we planted way back in 1987, as part of a group of plants which looked so tiny in amongst the mulch, but provided a nice view for us from the master bedroom.

our pretty little conifers 1987The last conifer on the right grew up like this:

another side of the coniferFortunately on that occasion we had the foresight to plant it well back from the footpath, to allow room for growth, which could be a subject for a lengthy post, as we have learnt from other less successful planting experiences.

 

One thought on “13/52: a trip down memory lane

  1. One of my Fav local Celebrity Gardeners Frankie Flowers, http://www.frankieflowers.com/
    did a segment about planting shrubs, bushes etc. recently. And, for the inexperienced gardener, Beware at the size some can Grow. It made me think about your Conifers…
    and, always lovely when you can look out and see what your hard efforts accomplished. Pays off, for sure.

Leave a Reply

