29/52: the arrival of the early daffodil

It strikes me as rather bizarre, to be telling you about a blooming daffodil in the middle of July. The seasons worldwide are definitely changing.

Experiencing a fairly mild winter here in Melbourne, Australia, I was amazed to find the first daffodil of the season, almost a month earlier than last year. Still, I’m not complaining, as I adore daffodils. Funnily, yellow is not my favourite colour, and I can definitely trace that back to the ghastly yellow we were subjected to in our childhood bedroom, which had been a sunroom before we lived there. However, the sight of bright yellow daffodils is a different story. In the garden, to me they always herald the beginning of spring.

??????????????????????????????? IMG_3557 ???????????????????????????????closeup of a daffodilOn my walk this morning I was thinking about these daffodils, when I came up with a new word. It’s bazurd, spelling of which I am unsure, because I just blended two words together unwittingly: bizarre and absurd. Isn’t that how new words are invented? The press are always doing it e.g. Brangelina for Brad Pitt and Angelina Jolie, so why can’t I?

I went right off track there, but never mind. It’s my blog and occasionally I am allowed to prattle on. After all, this is princessprattles, so pourqoui pas? (Why not?)

2 thoughts on “29/52: the arrival of the early daffodil

  1. The weather patterns around this globe of ours, are surely changing. August 9th, and we are now seeing signs of the leaves changing on the trees. This is very bizarre, and very Early !

Leave a Reply

