32/366: dad’s daffodils live on

Daffodils have always reminded me of my dear departed Dad, as he was very fond of bulbs. I think part of this stemmed from his Scottish heritage (my maiden name is Reid), as it is a very cost-effective way of having flowers, particularly compared with annuals. Not only do they come up every year, but they multiply, and that is very thrifty!

???????????????????????????????

I, too, carry this gene, and you can see it often in my recycling ways, saving money and being a creative outlet as well.

budding daffodil

???????????????????????????????

Last year I wrote about a family tradition, whereby Dad would always cut the first daffodils and place them in the blue vase on the mantelpiece. I inherited that vase, and have emulated that habit, except for last year when I couldn’t find the vase. At least I had photos of it so I didn’t mind too much, and blogging about it seemed to satisfy the urge to continue the tradition.

To my delight, while my husband and I were cleaning out and re-organising the garage earlier this year, I found the vase, so the daffodil tradition has been happily reinstated.

   the daffodil tradition 2013

4 thoughts on “32/366: dad’s daffodils live on

Leave a Reply

