35/52: an addition to my mini orchard

Why on earth has it taken me this long to actually buy and plant an apricot tree? We’ve been living here for 28 years; you’d think I would have done it a little earlier than this.
However, in my defence, we have been busy raising children and landscaping and extending and working and living and travelling, and after all, Rome wasn’t built in a day.

Moorpark apricot tree

Anyway, at last we have done it. I adore apricot jam, so we purchased a Moorpark apricot tree, which I believe is good for jam-making. I was all set to buy a bare-rooted tree, but the only Moorpark one available was a potted one, which, at about $45, cost an extra $18.

   somewhat potbound

Then we discovered that perhaps it had been in a pot a little too long, as it was quite root-bound, requiring a fair bit of teasing and trimming of the roots prior to planting. My trusty husband is the planter of trees in our family, with his wonderful digging skills. It’s lovely having my own personal labourer in the garden at times like this.

my trusty labourer

I wonder how many years we shall have to wait until fruit appears. Although I’ve waited so many years to plant this apricot tree, now that it’s actually in the ground I am suddenly impatient for produce!

the waiting game begins

Leave a Reply

