24/14: mothers in memoriam spark queer coincidences

You may have already seen my Mothers’ Day Memorial, which my husband and I created a year ago in honour of our dear departed mothers, but there may be some queer coincidences to consider here.

mothers' day memorial est. 2013

My mother-in-law passed away at 5am on 05/05/2005. Spooky, eh?

When we created the memorial we planted two Aline azaleas, flanked by three Shirazz azaleas (which by the way, have not yet flowered at all).

The week of the anniversary of  Enid’s death, the azalea on the left blossomed.

Aline azalea representing Enid

Meanwhile, the azalea on the right has been a little later in blooming, as it did this week, and today is the anniversary of my Mum’s passing on 29th May 2001. Therefore, this azalea represents Elaine.

Aline azalea representing Elaine

As if that wasn’t weird enough, beyond the azaleas is my beautiful huge rhododendron. We transplanted this back in 1986 from the house where I grew up in Mitcham.

perhaps the azaleas and rhododendron bring greetings from beyond

This plant normally flowers in late October, just in time for Mum’s birthday. Suddenly this week, a couple of days before winter officially starts, a random purple rhododendron has blossomed.

purple rhododendron representing Jack

Technically speaking, this could be explained by the recent spell of amazingly warm autumn weather, but spiritually this could be a whole different ball game.

My father died a day after my mother, on 30th May, 2001, and I suspect that if the azaleas have something to do with the ladies sending a little hello our way, perhaps the rhododendron is representing Dad in some faraway greeting. RIP, my beautiful parents and mother-in-law.

 

4 thoughts on “24/14: mothers in memoriam spark queer coincidences

  1. And, I would call them all “Signs” I think almost everyone has had those encounters in the past. I know I sure have. Lovely post, to your Dear Parents. Thinking of mine and Daryl’s parents and Missing them daily.

Leave a Reply

